Michael Nicholas Brant-Zawadzki, MD, FACR

 Dr. Brant-Zawadzki is the Executive Medical Director of Physician Engagement at Hoag Hospital, facilitating business and strategic relationships with specialist clinicians.  He also holds the Ron and Sandi Simon Endowed Chair as the Executive Medical Director of the Neurosciences Institute at Hoag. The Institute is transforming health care for people with brain and spine disorders using a program driven strategic, physician led, multidisciplinary team approach, measured by patient focused outcomes. Its programs include Stroke, Brain Tumors, Movement Disorders, Memory and Cognition, Neurobehavioral, Spine, Pain, and Addiction Medicine, among others. 

Dr. Brant-Zawadzki earned his undergraduate degree from Stanford University and his medical degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, where he received the Hoffheimer prize awarded to the top graduating medical student.

He trained in radiology and neuroradiology at Stanford University Medical Center. He then spent six years as a full-time Professor on the Neuroradiology faculty at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center, focusing on MRI development, stroke diagnosis and endovascular neurointerventional techniques. Dr. Brant-Zawadzki has authored and co-authored more than 250 papers in professional journals, 17 textbooks, and numerous book chapters. In 1989, he was elected to the Fellowship of the American College of Radiology. In 1993, he received the special Gold Medal from the Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine for outstanding pioneering achievements in that field.

Dr. Brant-Zawadzki lectures nationally and internationally, and consults in the fields of imaging, pharmaceutical, informatics and health care policy. He is a member of multiple professional societies and their Executive Committees, and sat on the Task Force on Clinical Guidelines for the North American Spine Society. He serves, or has served, on the editorial board of numerous professional publications including JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association), the American Journal of Neuroradiology, and the Journal of the American College of Radiology.